Island Sunrise

April 21, 2010

After several weeks of being wimpy, I braved a morning swim again today.  6.30am is looking much more like daytime these days and taking the plunge is a lot less frightening with a little bit of light.  The water is up to 66 degrees so today there were four of us without wetsuits.  But I’m not going to lie: it was cold.  And the air temperature was only 62, so it was pretty uncomfortable after we got out, too.  BUT, there was hot tea and laughter as always, and I’m really glad I went.

The sunrise was even more spectacular than normal and I was enjoying it for the entire swim.  One of my swimming friends referred to it as the “in-flight movie”, which says it rather nicely.  The colors were fantastic and it certainly took my mind off the cold.  It’s fun to be heading into summer and realizing that I can do this every day if I want to.  I think once it gets a little bit warmer I probably will.  It’s a perfect way to enjoy my last few months of living in paradise.

One Response to “Island Sunrise”

  1. marit c-l Says:

    I’m not going to lie: the thought of sharks scares the bejeezus out of me. However…with a great group and a beautiful sunrise – that must have been fantastic! I think the only comparable place I’ve swum was in Hawaii…very very clear waters and I felt totally safe out there. In CA, the water is so murky and you just know that there are big, um, things out there.


Leave a Reply

