Back in the Saddle

April 22, 2010

I seem to be back in the habit of two-a-day training days.  And boy do I love them.  On the phone last night GB asked “how was your day?”  and I had to think about it pretty hard.  Eventually I responded with “well, it started with an awesome swim and ended with an awesome bike ride so all the stuff in between seems inconsequential: it was a great day!”.

This morning I had a much easier time getting up at 5am and even had time for tea before I left for my morning run.  I’ve been doing some pseudo-coaching with a local 13-year old triathlete who is pretty quick for her age.  She needs company for some of her workouts so I’ve been meeting her for a bunch of them to keep her motivated (and get me motivated!).

In spite of the fact that I teach in a  middle school, I’m never sure how to talk to a thirteen year old during a training session.  Even so, she’s great company and we both enjoy having someone to train with in the early mornings.

One Response to “Back in the Saddle”

  1. marit c-l Says:

    Definitely sounds like a great day! Very cool that you’re helping out a young whippersnapper…but I can relate to the weird communication stuff. Especially if you teach in a middle school as well. The mind of a 13-year-old. Yikes! But also good motivation to get out there 🙂

    PS- You’ll have to let me know when you move up to MN…I’ll be there periodically through the summer and fall – I’d love to meet the two of you!


Leave a Reply

