Snail’s Pace

April 26, 2010

Last week a friend asked me if I would run a 10k with her this weekend.  I wasn’t planning on doing the race, but it seemed like a good idea so I signed up.  I didn’t really have any idea how fast or slow my friend runs, as we have never run together before, but she said she needed the company and I was up for it.

I decided to do it barefoot since I have been running barefoot for a while now and am really loving it.  The climate here has been perfect to experiment with it and since I only wear shoes for work here, it seemed like an obvious move.  This way I just leave one pair of shoes at work and besides cycling I don’t wear shoes at all.  Ever.

So off went the gun, and off we went, but not before several people had advised me not to run barefoot (as if it was just a random thing I decided to do and didn’t really think it through).  I assured them that I would be fine but there was still a lot of clucking of tongues and shaking of heads.  It turns out that my friend runs 10 minute miles or slower, so I had to REALLY dig deep to stay with her and not charge off ahead.  I kept telling myself that loyalty to a friend was more important than how disappointed I would feel with a time that was 20 minutes slower than usual.  Eventually at about mile 3 I convinced myself to relax and just enjoy the slow jog.  Anyway, as predicted, my feet were absolutely fine.  In fact, when you compare them to other people’s blistered feet (from their shoes), they actually looked better!

Afterwards I dashed off to the beach for a couple of mock-tri workouts with my young training buddy.  We did two mini-tris with 5 minutes’ rest in between and I was totally worked by the end.  It was especially fun because during the first one I had a TERRIBLE T1 and chased her for the rest of the race.  Then in the second race she ended up chasing me.  I think it was good for both of us to have a little healthy training competition.

This morning I joined my  morning ocean swim buddies for an easy breezy recovery swim.  Nothing like starting the day with a cold dip followed by some hot tea.

Leave a Reply

