Tropical

April 28, 2010

This morning my alarm went off at 4.30am and I’ll admit, I smiled.  I do enjoy an early morning bike ride.  Especially in the Tropics.  I was a little sore from last night’s intervals during which I chased a 13-year old up and down a dirt path while we ran “together”.  (It’s really good for me to have someone roughly my speed to chase, and really good for her confidence to know that she can leave me in her dust.  When you’re 13, confidence is everything).

After a quick breakfast I ventured out into the dark this morning on my bike which was wet all over from the humidity, in spite of having spent the night indoors.  It was a really peaceful ride and I just love it when there’s no traffic and it’s dark out.  Just me, my bike, and the heavy, warm, tropical air.

By the time I got to the meeting point I had already had thirty minutes of relaxing alone-time and felt totally chilled out.  We did a quick 60 minute tempo ride and then I biked to work.  My legs are feeling worked today, but that’s a really, really great feeling.  And it’s supposed to be seventy-five degrees today, so I feel like summer really is on the way.

Leave a Reply

